Courtesy of BayouBlonde

I am just a mod-making newbie myself, so this is not a detailed guide and will not tell you how to use your specific image editor or make you a great artist. But, you asked for it, so I shall deliver as best I can. :P

What is a mod?
For our purposes, it is a modification to one or more of the image files of the game. Mods allow you to change the way things look inside your game. They can be done of faces, clothing, homes (furniture, walls, floors, gardens,etc.) items, the user interface and just about any other image you see in the game. (The internet term "mod" also refers to a forum moderator, but that's not the one we're talking about.)

How do I use a mod? Where do I get them?
Mods have their own forum. If you would like to use a custom mod for your game, be sure to read the instructions in this post on how to make a backup copy of your original images and how to install mods correctly BEFORE attempting to use any of the mods posted in the forum.

The most commonly created, posted and requested mods are those of the house and lawn. You may see a room or items in someone's screenshots and decide you would just love to have them for your home. Visit the mod forum and see if you can find it posted. You may find other things you want as well.

How do mods work?
Before installing house and lawn mods, and especially before requesting a mod, you should understand a little about how the game's layout is created. The layout of the house and yard is actually made up of 16 different images that are "sewn" together to make the "map" that we see in the game. The image below is courtesy of Cheezyfries:

Each square in this grid is a separate image file inside your game's image folder. The coordinates on each one are the actual file names and identifies their location in the overall map layout.