What to do now

Posted by: Anonymous

What to do now - 04/12/05 06:05 PM

Okay, I have no tech points, 9 villagers (reproducing like rabbits. . .) and am almost out of food. I've built another hut, because building was the only thing they could do after they finished foraging. What is my next step? I can't do anything
Posted by: TouchyToucan

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 06:15 PM

I'm just starting out too, and you need to have one or two people researching -- that's how you earn tech points.
Posted by: MissEh

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 06:20 PM

At the beginning of a new game, consider carefully the long range effects of training your villagers in the different skill areas. I know, at first, the instinct is to get food, food, food, but that is more of a short-term survival goal.

Research is very important, as it helps your villagers find better ways to survive...

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 06:37 PM

I have everyone set with research as their preference. Maybe I'm missing something. Is there any other way to get them to research, other than setting it as their preference?
Posted by: TouchyToucan

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 06:39 PM

You have to physically get them to research by dragging them to the large table in front of the hut.
Posted by: ArthurAdministrator

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 07:03 PM

If you drag them to research and they are successful at least once, AND set their skill preference to research, they will pretty much research most of the time.
Posted by: Flash57

Re: What to do now - 04/12/05 07:09 PM

Right. You can set them to a specific preference, but they won't actually do that task until you drag them over and teach them.